2013: My Oscar predictions

oscarssign

Right, so every year (since 2010) I have made my Oscar predictions in the major categories somewhere – my site, or here. And every year (since 2010) I have picked all six correctly. I think this year I will break my streak, however – because this year, it’s pretty much chaos. No Ben Affleck, no clear pick in the Best Supporting Actor category, no idea. Really. But, here goes nothing:

Best Picture: Argo, which has won every major award this season. Ben Affleck’s film should have this one in the bag.

Best Director: Steven Spielberg for Lincoln. Or Ang Lee for Life of Pi. But I’ll say Spielberg. Seriously, we’re all flying blind here. On paper, by now, they would have engraved Affleck’s name on the Oscar already – he and Argo have won pretty much all the major awards this year. (First prize for me would be the Academy staging a revolt and picking Affleck anyway. Alas.)

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln. I’m betting they already have engraved his name on the trophy.

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook. Yes, I know she’s not the Academy’s usual pick (the “usual” here would be Jessica Chastain for Zero Dark Thirty), but she has also won almost every major award this season, so she should take this. Though I’ve seen some critics suggest that Emmanuelle Riva could get it for Amour. I’m not so sure.

Best Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones for Lincoln. Yeah, I got nothing. Could be him, could be Robert de Niro (Silver Linings Playbook). Look, Christoph Waltz could win for Django Unchained and I’d only be mildly surprised. It’s madness.

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway. She will win, and she will deserve it. Not just because she was fucking amazing for the twenty minutes she was on screen in Les Miserables, but because she has been pounding the campaign trail hard this year.

Right, now I prepare to watch my perfect record be smashed to smithereens…

 

Leave a Reply

