Nolan on ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ shooting

I’ve been more rattled by the shootings in Aurora than I probably have a right to be, being all the way out here in South Africa, and I’ve been trying to figure out why. And then I read Christopher Nolan’s statement on the incident and this quote in particular rang so true, and sums up my feelings perfectly:

The movie theatre is my home, and the idea that someone would violate that innocent and hopeful place in such an unbearably savage way is devastating to me.

I spend, on average, between eight and ten hours a week in the cinema. I’ve written before on how special a place it is for me. My mind, mercifully, cannot comprehend the horror.

 

 

One thought on “Nolan on ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ shooting

  1. I’m from the Philippines, and I’m also very shaken by this whole tragedy for the same reason you mentioned. It’s a scary world we live in when our favorite escape from reality is shattered by the very reality we are trying to run away from.

Leave a Reply

