Shiny, happy things

… And the story of the new laptop.

As you may have gathered, had you been reading other posts of mine, I have been in the market for a new laptop for a good long while. My wonderful Fujitsu Siemens had been with me for over seven years, but it was getting to the point where it would crash if more than two programmes were running – and definitely more than a few tabs in a browser.

I had a very strict budget for my laptop, which sort of made things easier in terms of shopping for one. My dear brother Sean toughed it out with me at one of Cape Town’s most horridly gigantic malls – Canal Walk – in search of a laptop. I had almost settled on one – not as good as I would have liked, but well in my price range – when, on a whim, Sean suggested another store. We were browsing, requested a price on a laptop. The saleswoman looked it up for us, before saying “Hang on a minute, I have something better. On special.”

The magic words. It took all of fifteen seconds for me to fall in love with the laptop – as the woman continued to rattle off specs and features (“It’s okay,” my brother said. “You’ve already sold it.” “I’m not selling,” she replied. “I’m bragging.”) The laptop – the last in the shop (hidden in the stockroom, in fact) – had been kept for a friend of the manager’s, who hadn’t picked it up when he was meant to. So I left my brother in the shop (“As collateral,” I said – though I did instruct him to guard the laptop with his life) while I did a quick sprint to the bank.

And, behold. My new laptop. An Acer Aspire 5750G. Intel Core i502419M 2.3GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M (and Intel HD3000 graphics), 6GB of DDR3 memory, a 750GB HDD and webcam (hooray for Skype dates with long-lost American friends) and a 15.6″ HD screen. I know, I can’t help it.

Meet Arya: (Yes, I named my laptop after a character in A Song of Ice and Fire. Deal.)

Meet Arya.

I actually have a few posts I need to get around to writing but haven’t just yet. To follow: Game of Thrones-inspired cake pops and a third round of egg donation.

But, for now… Shiny, happy things.

 

Leave a Reply

