Today I am grateful for…

know! Two posts in a row! Who knew.

Today has been a pretty atrocious day. I was called an asshole by somebody I thought I knew and received a horribly mean – though, depending on who you ask, probably not entirely un-deserved – email from said person.

So today we are playing the “Today I am grateful for” game. The game involves listing as many things in a row as you can possibly can that you are grateful for. I’m taking a while getting started because I’m looking for the perfect picture to illustrate my first thing…

PUPPIES!

Okay, so it’s not like I have a puppy or anything. Not yet. But I’m grateful that the world that I live in – that also includes so much bitterness and hurt – also includes puppies. Plus, adding this to my list means that I got to trawl through photos of puppies for half an hour. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

Now, on to the big, real stuff. You can duck out here if you’re not into soppiness – I won’t judge you. 

I am grateful for my brother – who offers to assemble the “Justice Friends” to look out for me, and, when I tell him that I “wub” him, replies with: “and i wub wub wub wub (di di do do do) wub wub wub you too.” [He does a mean dubstep impersonation, honest].

I am grateful for chicken mayo sandwiches on the balcony in the sun with a great friend and colleague, who is happy to listen to my ranting and is almost unfailingly supportive. You wish your co-workers were half so cool. Also, she has a cute puppy.

I’m grateful for friends that respond to angsty Gtalk messages, who judge from afar, have collections of House to raid, share Diablo III stories, who obsess over A Song of Ice and Fire with me and send caring Facebook messages from across the globe in response to slightly emo statuses.

You have no idea how grateful I am that I actually have friends.

I’m grateful that I have a healthy body (ish), that I am able to help other people achieve their dreams of having a family. I’m grateful that I have a family, as strange as it may be.

I’m grateful for new shoes, eyebrows that no longer suck and hair that people seem to think is nice and I seem to think is not.

But most of all – I’m grateful that I can pick out things that I am grateful for, and am lucky to have. Two years ago I don’t think I would have been able to name a single thing.

Progress. It’s actually quite lovely.

Leave a Reply

