Day Twenty-Five (Booyah!) – #30DayBlogChallenge

Day 25 – Something that you miss.

I’m not going to have just one “something”. I was planning to do a long post with photographs and everything, but most of those pictures are on my old harddrive and some surgery is required to rescue them off there.

In no particular order…

I miss my dad. Every day. I wish more than anything that I could have just one more day to spend with him. I’d have so many questions for him that I never thought to ask, and I want so desperately for him to be “caught up” on my life and offer his advice and thoughts. Even some teasing would do. I’m not sure I would be able to say goodbye, at the end of the day.

I miss my dog, Misty. She loved my father so much, and she only managed to live a few months after he died. She was only 10 years old. She died of a broken heart, I think. I miss being able to bury my fingers in her fur. I miss taking her for long walks on the stretch of dirt road that ran alongside the fence in Jwaneng.

Then… I miss dancing on tables at the Union in Grahamstown, miss nights packed on a small dance floor at Friar’s, crappy vodka and R2 glasses of box wine. I miss Mr Brightside and L and long hours spent drinking bad coffee and solving the world’s problems in her res room. I miss being told off for talking through my windows, miss pre-drinks and 100s club, watching rugby games in the bitter cold, puddle-jumping and BP runs and Friends marathons. I miss being young, silly. I grew up to quickly, somewhere.

I miss my Dinky car, I miss my Gran, I miss him, I miss the feeling that I could achieve whatever I wanted. I miss having a real family, I miss not having to be the pillar in the middle, I miss being able to write volumes of bad poetry and not care.

I miss the person I used to be. I’m just getting to know this new girl. I haven’t quite decided if I like her or not.

* And now we’re caught up. 

Leave a Reply

