Day Seven – #30DayBlogChallenge

Day Seven: Your dream wedding.

Funny story… If you asked me this question about 18 months ago, I’d have said “Oh, I don’t want to get married. I don’t see the point.” And then I started dating a wonderful man who made me see why people did want to get married. Okay, so we did break up. But that’s not what I’m getting at.

I definitely don’t want a huge white wedding with five hundred guests and no time to enjoy my new husband/my dear friends/the food because I’m so busy making sure that a work colleague’s younger sister is having a good time or listening to aunty Jane’s new boyfriend’s dirty jokes. Nope, none of that is for me.

My “dream wedding” involves being really small… No more than, say, twenty of our closest friends. I want a secular ceremony but still, selfishly, want to wear a wedding dress. (I’d like to wear an ivory one like my mom did. I think I’m way past qualifying for a white gown). I want no bridesmaids, no “maid of honour”, no politics… I know that my closest friends will bend over backwards to help me out, so why do they need schmancy titles? I want a pretty, quiet venue with good food – and then we can all just hang out and party together afterwards.

No mess, no fuss – and hopefully a night that will be much more relaxing than having two hundred guests waiting for you to take your photographs for three hours after the wedding. (That’s another thing. My photographer will know that there will only be a very brief photo session. In fact, I’d probably just pay one of my stupidly talented friends to take the photos for me – they’d have a better sense of me and my future husband anyway).

All of this is moot, of course, because I’m ridiculously single at the moment… And will probably end up alone, the old Crazy Hedgehog lady anyway.

Leave a Reply

