Racing to Oscar

It’s always fun trying to predict who will take the Academy Awards when you haven’t seen most of the films.

Not for lack of trying, of course. It’s just that movies get released a little later here in South Africa than they do everywhere else. For example, The Muppets only releases this Friday. That is, 27 January. We’ve still not got The Artist. Or Hugo. I’ve seen The Descendants and My Week With Marilyn, largely because I’m a journalist. But you get the picture. Most of it is tracking the trends through the rest of the Awards Season. Golden Globes? Surprisingly inaccurate in terms of predicting the Oscars… At least recently.

So we take a look at the Other Awards. The Guild Awards (Producers, Directors and Writers – most of them double up as Oscar voters) and the loose ends – the Critics Choice, the SAG Awards… So far, I can tell you, that nobody has come close to touching The Artist.

But in the interests of fun, I’m going to make Oscar predictions each week before the Oscars. My picks may change as the weeks go by, depending on how the other ceremonies go. Also, I suppose, on the actual nominations – which are being announced on 24 January (by one of my current big-screen crushes, Jennifer Lawrence).

I will only be picking in the “major” categories – Picture, Actor, Actress, Supporting Actor and Actress, Director and, for fun, Animated Feature.

* Disclaimer: These are early days, and I still haven’t seen half of the films.  

Week 1 – 22 January

Best Picture: The Artist
Best Actor: Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Best Actress: Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady (although I would love for Michelle Williams to get this for My Week With Marilyn, she was breath-taking)
Best Supporting Actor: Christopher Plummer – Beginners
Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer – The Help
Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist (Just beating Martin Scorsese for Hugo)
Best Animated Feature: The Adventures of Tintin

Leave a Reply

