My can’t-wait-for movies for 2012

The Hobbit

Right, you know me. I love movies in almost all shapes and sizes. I review movies for part of my living (I reviewed 65 last year).

Last year was pretty lean in terms of movies that I was desperate to see… 2012 is a whole different kettle of fish. I prepped an article for work on the same topic, but this is my must-see list. And mine only.

I’ve already seen two of the movies I was most keen for – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (If you haven’t seen it yet, go right now. Like now. Bookmark this page and go the movies – you can read it when you get back) and The Muppets (which I saw last year but only releases on 27 January here in SA).

Read on for my must-see movies of 2012…

The Hunger Games

I read the entire Hunger Games trilogy in the space of a week – and absolutely loved it. It was a very easy read, but also still deep and quite fascinating. I also happen to love Jennifer Lawrence to bits. I know there was a bit of bitching in the States about the choice to cast her as Katniss, but seriously – she’s amazing. People must deal. Very excited to see how they translate the books to screen.

The Avengers

A film in which I can indulge my crush on Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Jeremy Renner and Scarlett Johansson? Sign me up! Plus, like geeks across the globe, I bow down before the master that is Joss Whedon, and am very excited to see what he brings to the table. No pressure, dude.

Snow White and the Huntsman 

I love the twist on the Snow White fairytale – instead of being a glorified domestic worker, Snow gets to kick some ass, and trains to overthrow the evil Queen (played by none other than onse Charlize Theron, who just drips sex and pure malice in the trailer alone). Contrary to popular belief, Kristen Stewart can act – and it’ll be awesome seeing her do something different.

Safe House

Not because it’s going to shake the foundations of Hollywood or anything, but because a large chunk was shot in Cape Town – and the novelty of seeing SA on the big screen still hasn’t worn off for me.

War Horse

The latest Steven Spielberg film has already released overseas and has earned generally favourable reviews. I love the period (it’s set in the First World War) and of course, what’s not to love about Spielberg – who manages to bring a touch of nostalgia to all his films, that I miss so dearly when reviewing some modern works.

The Artist

It only releases in SA in April – but wow, I can’t wait to see it. This black and white, silent film pays tribute to some of the iconic films in history – and the awards buzz it’s creating is only making more eager to see it.

Titanic 3D

So what. I loved Titanic. Shuddup. Now I get to see it in 3D.

Rock of Ages

I love musicals. I love classic rock. I love Catherine Zeta-Jones doing musicals. I love the idea of Tom Cruise doing a musical. Add to this Russell Brand and Paul Giamatti… I’m there with my mullet on.

Prometheus

This film, which falls before Alien in the universe’s chronology, has been kept a closely-guarded secret. Needless to say, I’m desperate to see it. Ridley Scott was quoted as saying:

“While Alien was indeed the jumping off point for this project, out of the creative process evolved a new, grand mythology and universe in which this original story takes place. The keen fan will recognize strands of Alien’s DNA, so to speak, but the ideas tackled in this film are unique, large and provocative. I couldn’t be more pleased to have found the singular tale I’d been searching for, and finally return to this genre that’s so close to my heart.”

Bring it. Bring it now.

The Amazing Spider-Man

Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield are two of my favourite young actors at the moment. (Check out Andrew in Boy A and The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, if you’re not familiar with his work outside of The Social Network). I’m also looking forward to the new take on Spider-Man. Tobey Maguire was not my favourite.

The Dark Knight Rises

Do I even have to fill this out? Bring it home, Christoper Nolan. Bring it home.

Skyfall

The new Bond film is long overdue… And the plot points released so far make this film sound wildly intriguing. Plus, we all get to perve over Daniel Craig again.

The Hobbit

Again, not sure quite what you expect me to write here… Just that I can’t wait for the return to Middle-Earth. And Ian McKellen was right – Martin Freeman is Bilbo. Very, very excited.

2 thoughts on “My can’t-wait-for movies for 2012

  1. Two great suggestions – definitely looking forward to Django Unchained! I’m working off a list of movies currently scheduled for release in South Africa in 2012 – it’s still early days and a lot of time movies only get added to the list as the year goes on. Neither Django Unchained or Moonrise Kingdom appear yet – and neither does Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby, which I think is going to be fascinating!

Leave a Reply

