The adventure begins… The first Hobbit trailer

I’ve been looking forward to this movie for years. And years. And probably some more years on top of that. I read JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit as a child, and it’s remained one of my favourite novels since.

I was also, at some point in my teens, obsessed with Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Obsessed. I’ve seen the movies so often that I can definitely recite most of The Fellowship of the Ring as it plays. And probably a large chunk of The Return of the King too.

Anyway, you don’t care about my slightly unhealthy relationship with The Lord of the Rings. You’re here to see the trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. I got chills, then squealed.

Watch here.

Firstly, Martin Freeman completely exceeded my expectations. Sir Ian McKellen (who returns as Gandalf) was right about one thing – he is Bilbo. (In my mind, at least.)

I do love the hark back to The Lord of the Rings – those people whose entire experience of Tolkien is centered in Jackson’s film will find this familiar and comforting, and the rabid fans of the books will be pretty much rabid no matter what. The inclusion of Howard Shore’s main Lord of the Rings Theme gives it a wonderful, nostalgic feel.

And while we don’t get to see as much of the dwarves as I would have liked, I suppose we’ve got a full year of promotional material to go to get to know them.

Bring on part one of The Hobbit. 

Leave a Reply

