A Great First Look at ‘Gatsby’ [Picture]

Cliched thought it may be… I love the 1920’s, more than any other era. I loved the fashion, the make-up, the hair, the idea of the parties and the excess and the sudden realisation that hey, girls, we don’t need to hide. As an added bonus, I love  The Great Gatsby.

So, of course, I perked my ears up at the mention of a Leonardo DiCaprio-starring, Baz Luhrmann-directed version of F Scott Fitzgerald’s novel. And… I was torn. On one hand, a cast that includes Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire and Carey-freaking-Mulligan… Well now. Carey is perfect for Daisy, I can’t think of anybody better, and Leo will be great as the titular Gatsby. (I think he and Ryan Gosling are vying for the title of “Most Underrated Actor” of our generation, but that’s a discussion for a whole other time).

But Baz as director… Well, I won’t deny that it will be interesting. I loved Romeo + Juliet and Moulin Rouge! – they’re two of my favourite guilty-pleasure films – and I think that he will bring the exuberance of the period to the screen like nobody’s business. Will he be able to handle the subtle, complex, difficult emotions that run as an undercurrent to the film? That remains to be seen. He couldn’t in Australia – that’s all I’m saying.

In the meantime – a first look at the stars of The Great Gatsby. They all look superb. Can’t believe we have to wait until Christmas 2012 for this.

The Great Gatsby

Tobey Maguire, Carey Mulligan and Leonardo DiCaprio in 'The Great Gatsby'.

Leave a Reply

